A candidate must fill out an application with the probate judge. The probate judge appoints and commissions all notary publics.
Each notary public can hold office for a period of 4 years, however, the notary can apply for a renewal after the four year term has expired.
A marriage license is valid in Alabama for 30 days from the date it is issued. A premarital blood test is no longer required in Alabama and there
is no required waiting period after the license is purchased. The licensing process takes about 15 minutes. The license fee is $40. The prospective Bride and Groom must be present to obtain a marriage license.
PURSUANT TO THE 1975 CODE OF ALABAMA, SECTION 7-9A-501(a)(1), effective January 1, 2002, the Limestone County Probate Judge's office will
ONLY record UCC-1's that include items "stuck" to real estate: i.e., fixtures, goods that are to become fixtures, as extracted collateral (oil, gas & minerals) and timber to be cut.
The 2010 general session of the Alabama Legislature brought an increase to the corporation filing fees beginning January 1, 2011. In Limestone
County the Probate Judge fees are base fees and do not include any local fees allowed by law.
The service of the office include the recording, indexing and preserving of permanent documents, primarily real estate records. Instruments that may be filed include deeds, mortgages, liens, judgments and
other items pertaining to property in Limestone County.